Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Based on the authors opinion, they came to the conclusion that woven basket with a particular distinctive pattern that were only found in the village of palea were made by the Palean people. The author uses the examples of specifying the difficulty the Brim river, a neighboring waterway, presented in crossing it and the lack of Palean boats for their people to travel to Lithos as evidence for reaching their conclusion. The Palean people could have migrated via land routes to Lithos. Another posibility is that the people from Lithos traveled to Palea and shared resources and knowledge with the Palean people. In presenting these 2 posibilities, it permits the likelyhood the author's argument is incorrect.

Traveling via boat is not the only way of reaching Lithos. The Palean people could have traveled via land trading routes to Lithos to trade goods and knowledge on how to create baskets. While boats are a faster means of arriving from one destination to another, they are not the only means. The author makes the assumption that access to Lithos via boats is the only means of acquiring and transferring knowledge on how to make these baskets.

Futhermore, who is not to say that the people from Lithos did not seek out Palean people to trade with. Historically, people have already adventured across the horizon in search for mystery will the possibity of trading goods with others. The people from Lithos very well could have taken this adventure and traveled to Palea in search of tradeable good or learn how to craft the unique baskets.

However, if we were to assume the accuracy of the authors assumption, a stronger case of support could be made if the author were to also include reviews of demographic trading paterns during that time. As mentioned before, people from all over the globe at one time or another have taken expeditions whether across land or water that required them to be away from home for many months and sometimes even years just to have access to rare items or resources. Who is to say that was not the same case for the Palean or Lithos people. If the author researched the traveling habits of the palean people or reviewed if it was the people from Lithos who travelled to Palea, stronger support could be made for their agrument. There was no mention made that any Lithonian boats were discovered and they could very well have been the seamen.

In conclusion, based on the authors assumption to reach a conlusion that distinctive woven pattern of basked were produced only by the Palean people based on the fact that they were not able to discover any boats makes for weak support. The author deserves to give the matter more research time and consider other posiblities before reaching such a conclusion. While some facts the author presents do deserve strong merit of consideration, the authos fails to deliver enough evidence to support their claim.