Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archa

The mentioned argument firstly attributes the origin of an ancient basket to Palea and later, based on founded similar baskets and difficulties for taking this basket to a near village to Palea named Lithos, claims that this basket might not belong to only Palea. I personally was not convinced that this basket was not exclusively woven in Plea. In fact, this argument is flawed for numerous reasons that I will discuss in depth.

Firstly, the author wrongly concludes that transportation was not feasible between Palea and Lithos since their boats might have been disappeared by any means. This issue frequently happens near seas; for instance, the water might damage a boat and convey the remnants using the flow of water to other places. Corrosion, a natural cause, could have destroyed their boat, if any, during past decades. It should be noted that the age of this basket is unknown which makes it hard for us to discuss about the causes to the disappearance of a hypothetical boat.

Moreover, the fact that this basket belongs to Palean rests under the assumption that it was found near an ancient village with valuable history. This assumption might not be true since the author himself considers the fact that this basket might have been exported to from Palea. Thus, although it seem more reasonable to assign this ancient basket to Palea, we can consider that this basket could have been created in other places neat Palea.

Thirdly, only transportation by means of water has been considered by the writer of this argument, which is incomplete. The communication means between Palea and Lithos should be comprehensively investigated and discussed in this argument to persuade readers. Archaeologists are required to examine other likely ways for communication between these two villages in order to reach a more accurate conclusion about the possibility of exporting this basket from Palea to Lithos. To strengthen the argument, archaeologists have to determine the origin of this basket.Then, they should search for the uniqueness and exportation of this artifact to other locations.

In sum, despite several assumptions mentioned in this argument, I couldn’t convince myself about the origin of this basket since this argument not thoroughly investigated. Further, these flawed assumptions creates this argument unreliable.