Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The given passage offers two evidence to illustrate that the “Palean basket” is not uniquely Palean. One is that such basket was found in another village Lithos, the other is no boat was found to prove that the ancient Paleans went to Lithos across the Brim River. However, I think the second evidence is insufficient because no Palean boats was found does not mean no Palean boats ever existed. To fully support the argument the author needs to prove that it is impossible for the ancient Paleans to have boats in order to travel across the Brim River, and there was no other access for the Paleans to Lithos. The author also needs to make sure that the Palean baskets was not traded to other villages and then to Lithos. Only after the author exclude every occasion of interaction between Palea and Lithos can we conclude that the basket found in Lithos was originally made by the residents there.