Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on the assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

Several charitable organizations in Pleasantville provide opportunities for teenagers to engage in community service. These organizations have a great need for volunteers, but in recent years, the number of teenage volunteers has significantly declined. The pleasantville School Board should take measures to increase the number of volunteers. Teachers, parents, and other community members agree that it is important for young people to learn the value of community service. Requiring high school students to engage in community service would provide much-needed assistance to worthy local charities and would also help young people understand the importance of giving back to their community. For this reason, the Pleasantville School Board should institute a program requiring students of Pleasantville High School to complete 40 hours of community service prior to graduation.

This argument says about the needs of volunteers in the charitable organizations and how helpful the community serving is for college students in future. Requiring high education students have to engage in this type of services like Charitable trusts or other organization that works for society. For young people to understand the importance of giving back to their community is very necessary.

The argument assumes that teenage students have significant time energy so that they can definitely serve in any organization. But with their studies they have other extra-curricular activities like in any sports or leading any other small events, students council etc. with both volunteering and studies are necessary but only one can be performed well. For instance, a typical high school student may also have load of their subjects like English, Mathematics, and Science. Teenagers are now also aware and they are also working for this type of charitable organization. It is not necessary to work as volunteer in any organization. She/he can also work passively and individually as they want.

It is important to investigate that number of number of teenagers are decreased. As population increases retired people are also wanted to do something for that society and with this they are also working in any organization. It is not necessary to that volunteer should be teenager. Retired people can also serve well and do something for that society. They also need some work to do when they are free. While it may be possible that in Pleasantville high school students is less enthusiastic about volunteering. Making a claim without any proof is just an assumption.

Secondly, by giving a statistical number of 40 hours that is approximately a full week. Does all the charitable organization have that much of space or work for all the college students? It is also important to remember that volunteer also needs to be trained before working and for that paid employees are needed. Prior to that graduation it is necessary to work with any social work but 40 hours requirement would not be feasible for all the busy students. The students are required to complete 40 hours of community service. The author does not show any opinion of the students about such a decision. The student’s views should have been taken by the author. This may be one of the reasons why students are back tracking such a noble work.

Thirdly, the author here has also not described the type of work that the volunteer need to do. It is more important to describe the type of work and seriousness of that task. If any tasks that would be better done by the people who have better understanding about that proper work. The author needs to mention the work to done.

In general, it may be said that the writer has failed to make a convincing argument because of absence of data. No convincing reason is given. So that this assumptions are not enough to provide and support their proposal. Writer fails to provide holistic picture of the situation stated.