31.As we acquire more knowledge, things do not become more comprehensible, but more complex and mysterious.

The process of obtaining knowledge starts from making things from complex and mysterious to comprehensive, and accordingly with some apprehension of the world, people recognize the limitation of themselves and find things become even more complicated than before.

To begin, from ancient time to the contemporary time, people find many natural phenomena initially mysterious become increasingly simple and understandable. In Chinese ancient myth, the thunder and the lighting are created by the god of thunder and the goddess of lighting using hammers, similarly, according to the Norse Mythology, thunder is also created by a god - Thor. However, with the development of technology, scientists found that thunder is just a series of sound waves produced by the rapid expansion of the air through which the lightning passes. And because light travels faster than sound, there is often a time interval between the flash and the thunder. Therefore, with increasingly advanced scientific detectors, humans can understand the world as well as the society better.

However, when people already grasp some of the knowledge, they may find their own powerlessness towards this world and find “truth” is so far to even see. Like what Zeno of Elea said, “Our knowledge is like a circle. Inside the circle are things you know about, and outside the circle are things you don’t know. The area of the big circle is my knowledge, the area of the small circle is your knowledge, so my knowledge is more than yours. But outside these two circles are things you and I don’t know. The circumference of the big circle is larger than that of the small circle so that I may have more knowledge, but I also realize that there is more I do not know.” When Mendel found the rule of heredity in the 19th century, people at that time was so excited because they believed they have understood the law of nature and human beings. But one and a half hundred years later, people now are confused about whether genetically modified food can be deleterious to humans’ health and genetically altered babies can live as normal infants. There is a truth lying somewhere, but it is not possible for humans to finally get a glimpse of that truth.

Finally, what I want to say is that it is a natural way to acquire knowledge that first realizing your own impotency and then trying to make things less unfathomable. This process is endless, while during that process, humans can enhance themselves and at least get closer to the final “truth”. Take philosophers as an example. For thousands of years, philosophers are trying to understand human beings and the world around us. In ancient times, Plato emphasized the importance of “conscience” and “moral standard”. On the contrary, for philosophers in contemporary time when deconstruction ideas prevail, those moral standards are not born to be followed, but are simply constructions constructed by political elites to form consensus and thus better govern the nation. Those seemly easily apprehensible notions like “benevolence” and “tolerance” now becomes impenetrable to average people under the explanation of contemporary philosophers. But at the same time, this situation means human have developed deeper understanding of the world and the society around us.

In a nutshell, the process that things from being complex to being easier to apprehend, and then to being even more complex can help humans capture a more comprehensive picture of the natural and the secular world.