Question: Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

I disagree that all university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is.

To begin with, most histories are not true but myths constructed by the political elites to control the state. There is an old saying in China going that "history is written by the winners." That makes a lot of sense. Rulers want to legalize their governance and want to maintain the harmony of the society and thus rewrite the history in a way that is beneficial to their own interests. For example, the CCP (the Chinese Communist Party) rewrote the history during the Anti-Japanese War from 1935 to 1945. Actually, the CCP did not contribute as many efforts as the Kuomingdang did, but after the establishment of the People Republic of China, the CCP told its people that Kuomingdang were very corrupted and did not try their best to fight against the Japanese troops.

In addition, learning history may make students become nationalists and be more conservative. Nationalism is an identification with one's own nation and support for its interests, especially to the exclusion or detriment of the interests of other nations. Nationalism is a very exclusive feeling and may lead to tariff barriers in international trade and racism in political affairs. History, in the upside, can cultivate students' loyalty to the nation, in the backside, may make them become nationalists because history tends to understate the failings and barbarian behaviors of its own country, and to overstate its glorious past. Take the history book in England as an example. When the book refers to the crown Englishmen robbed from the Indian royal family in the 19th century, it uses "the Indian crown" but does not mention the robbing behavior of Englishmen at all.

Lastly, it is university students' freedom of choice to determine whether to take history courses or not. University students are mature enough to make decisions on their own and to choose courses they want to take according to their interests and future career plan. If one student is an art major and is really interested in the history of art, she or he can take related history courses, but if one student is majoring in computer science and suffers from learning C++ and python, she or he can choose not to take history courses but uses more free time to practicing the computer language she or he learned from her or his own courses.

In a nutshell, although history is a rudimentary course for students, it may bring negative effects on students and it depends on students themselves towards whether to take the courses.