Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?Governments should spend more money in support of the arts than in support of athletics such as state-sponsored Olympic teams.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

From my perspective, the government should spend more money to support the arts rather than the athletics because its unique role that successfully cultivate people's sympathy and empower the audience.

To begin with, arts can cultivate people's empathy. Empathy is the capacity to feel each other's emotions and feelings, and can make people from different background feel connected and never be isolated. And arts is the medium that those artists use to express their own private but valuable feelings, and through arts, the audience can feel the connection between themselves and the artists even the artist may already died thousands years ago. That is why people can be more empathetic after appreciating masterpieces made by artists. Take the Death of Red Masque as an example. It is a novel written by Edgar Ellen Poe. Although it is a 19th century novel based on the Medieval times, readers can easily feel the strong emotions like fear, doubt and disillusion from the novel, and it is exactly the experience that people can strengthen their ability of empathy.

In addition, arts have the power to calm people, and to soothe the distress as well as the despair of human beings. Thomas De Quincey once said in his article that there are two types of literature, the literature of power and the literature of knowledge. The former refers to those masterpieces like Hamlet and Moby Dick, and the latter refers to those texts books like the Principles of Economics or Linear Algebra, and in his opinion the former is the true art. What De Quincey wants to express is that unlike literature of knowledge that can give readers nothing but definations and theories, the true arts can give readers the power that can release their distress and make them more sanguine about the future life. Life is like Sisyphus who kept pushing the huge stone up to the top of the mountain but could never succeed. Our life is meaningless, but it is the arts that give us the power and the courage to carry on. When we feel really down, we can read poems written by Shirley and feel the beauty of nature and the beauty of life; When we lose help, we can watch Blue Light, and find that we may be can also saved by a magical blue light; When we break up with lover, we can watch the Breathless, and find that there are much more interesting things than having a relationship. And that is the significance of arts.

I have to admit that athletics also bring a lot of benefits to the country and to its people. For example, watching the football competition between one's own nation and a foreign nation can help the audience to build a sense of belonging and to cultivate patriotism towards the motherland. But still, the arts have much more long-lasting and more significant influence on people.