To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Although studying the major cities can offer important insights about the characteristics of a society, studying other aspects of the society like arts can bring more thoughtful understandings of a society.

To begin with, big cities is dwelled by people from all around the nation. Because huge cities have more advanced economic performance, and more opportunities than small towns, ambitious people from all the around the country come to the city and try to find jobs. Thus, cities are very demographically diversified, and studying cities is very convenient for researchers who do not need to travel to a lot of places around the whole country. Hong Kong, then, is a good example. Hong Kong is a very cyberpunk city with both skyscrapers and slums, with luxurious restaurants and street stalls. People who go to Hong Kong to try to establish a business also bring their own traditions and food. It is common that a Michelin star French restaurant is near a traditional Cantonese restaurant. Inclusion, thus, is the most important characteristic of Hong Kong.

However, big cities are very similar to each other because of increasingly modernization and integration. As Marshall McLuhan first said in the 1980s, we live in a global village, and we communicate with the world more conveniently and quickly. A new fashion began from Paris can spread to Vietnam several days later. This is to say, different cultures become more and more assimilated and lose their own unique, and huge cities are on the front line of this integration and assimilation. Those metropolis including the New York City, Tokyo, London and Shanghai, are very similar to each other, with a landmark which is the highest building in the city, and city museums as well as a park in the centre of the city. Therefore, learning huge cities may be simply a waste of time and can figure out nothing specific characteristics of the city.

In addition, arts can represent the most important characteristics of a society because art itself is from the real life and artists tend to use arts to express their attitude and observation of a society. Take movies directed by Jia Zhang-ke as an example. The well-known film directer captured a lot of representative pictures in Chinese society. In the movie The World, he filmed a lot migrant workers who left their hometown and hoped to make a career in Beijing, but actually they are still marginalized groups being exploited and alienated. And that is exactly what is happening in China. In 2017, Beijing banished millions of migrant workers living in Beijing, and although they contributed a lot to the huge city, they are still the “strangers” who are dismissed by the mainstream city dwellers.

In a nutshell, digging into the arts created by masters living in the society is a better way to study the unique vibe of a society compared to studying its major cities.