Question: Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?The rules that societies today expect young people to follow and obey are too strict.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

I agree with the statement that the rules that societies today expect young people to follow and obey are too strict.

To begin with, many governments want to build a harmonious country and require all the people act and think in the same way, thus, young people have to obey the "rule" strictly and can never speak out their true feelings. Actually, different governments have different priorities and different ideal societies in their blueprints. For some governments, like China, harmony is the most important goal to achieve, because they do not want their people to tear the "contract" up and revolt against their sovereign and establish another "social contract". Building some consents in the society and let its people act and think in the same way is a great approach to attain their goal. Take the CCP (the Chinese Communist Party) as an example. During the coronavirus pandemic, the CCP asked newspapers to write stories about the crisis in a good way, like the commitment of the chairman and the contribution of doctors, and most news as well as speech that covered the sufferings of Wuhan residents and the death toll were censored.

In addition, nowadays' world is an elite world and those elites including scholars and tech elites cannot trust young people and want to control them tightly. Many elites nowadays hold the opinion that the free market of speech may cause hysteria in the society because people who firmly hold contrast ideas cannot finally reach a middle ground and start to criticize each other. Therefore, from their perspective, they themselves should put forward some consents or common views that can be never questioned or doubted, and spread those "golden laws" to average people like us. For example, many giant companies always want young people to work hard in order to make more profit for them, and therefore they try to persuade them that hard-working is a cherished merit and can help them lead better life. But actually that is only a myth, and practically, family background, skin color and gender can play more important roles in helping them to get promoted. Through the persuasion of tech giants, nonsense can become the "golden rule".

But I have to admit that young people now are much more free than those in last centuries. After the Civil Right Movement, the Feminist Activisms, and Pride Parades, young people become more and more inclusive and have more courage to break old rules that restrain their improvement.

In a nutshell, the authoritarianism and the elite control prevent young people from moving forwards in the recent society and they have to obey strict social rules.