Question: Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?The opinions of celebrities, such as famous entertainers and athletes, are more important to younger people than they are to older people.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

I agree with the following statement that the opinions of celebrities are more important to younger people than they are to older people.

To begin with, the younger people are more likely to be waverers than the older people. To be more specific, youngsters' sense of the world and the society has not been consolidated yet, while the elderly tend to be more stalwart to their stance. According to the two-step flow theory proposed by Lazarsfeld, the well-known sociologist, opinion leaders can pass on their interpretation of media messages to others, but more sufficiently to waverers than to those who persistently insist on their views. That is not difficult to understand. Take avant-garde art as an example. When rock and roll first became popular in Britain, it is a kind of subculture embraced only by young people, and was criticized by older people of junk music and of being a degeneration of serious high art. Younger generations are more open and can embrace new things easily than older generations.

In addition, older people may simply do not be exposed to social media as often as younger people. And because most celebrities are only active in social media by posting selfies and live-streaming, not using social media means that they cannot know about celebrities, never to say their opinions. Pew Research center once did a survey about the screen time use of people in different ages, and showed that people from 20 to 30 in the U.S. spend more than three times on their phone than people from 50 to 60. That result is also true when it comes to the exposure to social media. My grandma for example, cannot use any social media because she cannot read, and my mom, although she is well-educated, hate social media and think it is a waste of time of scanning the posts on Twitter or Instagram or Facebook.

However, I have to admit that older people may have lower degree of critical thinking than younger people. In recent years, children are taught to be critical and do not follow the stream. But things are different decades ago when World War Two was going on, and children at that time are taught to be united and to be patriotic to the state. With the lack of critical thinking, older people are more likely to accept things that are expressed by those celebrities.

In a nutshell, I believe that opinion leaders can play a more important role to younger people than to the older ones.