Question: Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

From my perspective, I do not agree the statement that the ability to maintain a friendship for a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many friends easily.

To begin with, making a lot of friends can help people to break the "echo chamber" and be more inclusive to divergent opinions. Now because of the algorithm used in social media, people tend to only see posts that are consistent with their own points of view, and thus it seems like they are living in an echo chamber where similar voices echoed all along. The natural result of this phenomenon is people will become more and more radical and cannot bear voices that are inconsistent with theirs. However, making friends with different background is a great opportunity for them to hear different voices. Take me as an example, I have been using a dating app named Soul recently, and I made a lot of friends from different places all around the world. Once I talked with a man about prostitution, he felt very comfortable with that and said he himself wanted to try. At first, I was shocked and angry as a feminist, but then I thought that it was his freedom of choice and I should not judge him.

In addition, having friends to accompany can make people never feel isolated and find their social identity. Humans are social creatures and need accompanies. If one person only has friendships with a small group of people, he or she may have difficulty to find someone to go along with. As regard to social identity, social identity refers to the perspective people define themselves not as individuals but as members of social groups. Similar with the effect of accompany, finding the social identity can help people to find the emotional connection with people and never feel marginalized. For instance, I am an ACG lover, but I always feel lonely because ACG is a subculture and there are not many people around me know much about it. But after I made a lot of friends who have similar interest as me in Bilibili, a ACG platform, I suddenly get rid of that sense of loneliness and felt connected with the world again.

I have to admit that maintaining friendships for a long time can give great happiness to people because after so many years of getting along with each other, they can become so close that can get each others’ points easily. Thus, they can choose to talk about topics that fascinates both and can never be bored.

In a nutshell, I strongly agree that making new friends can bring more happiness than maintaining friendships for very long time.