Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?It is more important for governments to spend money to improve Internet access than to improve public transportation.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In this world of internet and information, I agree that it is more important for the government to spend more money to improve internet access than to improve public transportation.

To begin with, internet is crucial to online education and meetings. There are many schools shifting their courses from offline to online nowadays because of low cost, more convenience and the fairness (providing more high-quality education sources to students from rural area). Especially during the coronavirus outbreak, most schools around the world have been closed and all the courses have been taken online through ZOOM or other platforms. Students who live in remote area where there is bad internet connection may disconnect and have to drop from the school. Actually, one of my classmates is from a village where there is no internet connection, and until more than two months after the beginning of last term, she has finally had the internet connection but has passed half of the course.

In addition, internet is a very important way to get information. A decade ago, the most important way to access to information is newspaper, but right now people rarely buy printed newspaper and choose to get information via Twitter and Youtube. Digital gap, the gap between people who are familiar with internet and people who are foreign to the tech, is one of the most serious problems around the world. In the past, the reason why people are in different social classes was wealth, skin color and family background, but now is the familiarity towards the internet. Because through internet, people can immediately know what happened in a corner of the world, and that kind of information is the advantage and the power.

Finally, lack of internet may bring about more inequality and even death. Many countries including the U.S., Great Britain, and India are trying to establish digital health countries, which means using technologies to upload residents' information like fingerprints, income, health condition into ID cards. Residents of lower income can get subsidies and food from local government by only swiping the ID card. But in areas where there is no internet connection, residents cannot successfully swipe their cards and then cannot get their remedies. The Guardian once told a true story in India going that a man starved to death because of the failure of getting food from Indian government because of the bad internet connection in the village he lived in.

All in all, now internet is everything, and our lives cannot leave the internet. Government should pay more efforts to improve internet access in order to build a more equal world.