3.The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

What is the core element of a good leadership? Competition or cooperation? In this statement, the author chooses the latter. The author claims that the society should prepare its younger generations for leadership in diverse fields such as government, industry, or others, by instilling in them a sense of cooperation rather than competition. With the examples of successful leaders who listened carefully to others and worked in a harmonious manner, I fundamentally agree with the statment.

It is an undeniable fact that no one can be an expert in every field. A single person can hardly have an expertise over more than one, or maybe two subjects. That being said, to make an enterprise a successful one, a leader must know how to cooperate with professionals from their fields. Take Steve Jobs, who is a famous example of highly competitive, but not really collaborative leader, for example. When he first started Apple, the business was fairly small, and being competitive seemed to be a key for his success. However, after a tremendous success of Apple, and enlarged size of the group followed, his lack of communicative skills and collabrative mind emerged to the surface. Although he had to work with co-workers who had different talents to make his innovative invetions come to reality, he failed to work harmoniously with the workers. And the result following that was cruel: he was fired from his own company. Taking aside the fact that he was re-hired and make the business grow even further, he is well-know as the "bossy" boss of all time till now, which makes it hard to conclude him as someone who has a good leadership.

For politicians, having cooperative mind also matters. For example, the former president of Korea, Lee-myung-bak was a reknown expert of economics. He promoted himself as a economy-president, and after he was elected, Lee did tried a number of poilcies that he claimed to bring the desirable changes in Korean economy. Nevertheless, while being rather dampen in the idea of 'saving the economy', he ignored other important agendas such as human right issues, which resulted in a pessimistic opinions of the people of Korea.

Taking account of the fact that one cannot be an expert and have to cooperate with others to be a successful leader, we cannot ignore the imporatnce of being competition, because it is true that an individual have to compete through the way to become a leader. Therefore, for a society to prepare their younger generations to become a successful leaders, the best way will be focusing on instillilng in them a sense of cooperation with competition.