41. A ten-year nationwide study of the effectiveness of wearing a helmet while bicycling indicates that ten years ago, approximately 35 percent of all bicyclists reported wearing helmets, whereas today that number is nearly 80 percent. Another study, howe

The argument illustrates an editorial appeared in a health newsletter suggested that the government should emphasize more on awareness about bicycle safety more than requiring them to wear helmet to reduce the number of bicycle accident. In order to support the suggestion a study of effectiveness of wearing a helmet and a number of accidents occurring is given.

looking at the facts presented the suggestion looks cogent but further analysis uncover few possibilities that can make the conclusion not worthy. So it would be perfunctory to deduce conclusion from the given facts.

first of all, the proportion of the helmet wearing people is shown increased as per the study. But the difference between two studies is 10 years. This gap of two years is totally neglected in the news letter. it could be possible that the number of vehicles is increased by a huge percentage and not only the bicycles but also the number other transportation vehicle are add ed at a huge portion. And the because of the traffic this number of accidents are increased. The type of accidents are also not considered in the study. What was the definition of accident in both the studies. It is possible that study done 10 years back has included only major accidents and the latest study is including each and every minor or major accidents. What was the time period of the study? It maybe possible that the first has number of accidents happened in a month and the second study containing the data of bicycle casualties of 2 months or three months and these numbers are compared. It is also possible that the season of the first study was summer and the latest study was done in rainy season. Clearly in rainy season number of accidents is increase because of the turning of road surfaces in a slippary surfaces.

Secondly, the news letter states a sentence that bicyclist just feel safer because of helmets but in actual they are not. But how this statement was deducted? Posibilities that those who came across the accidents were not wearing helmets. It is also possible that the reckless driving is the reason behind the accidents. In such cases wearing a helmet can not help you.

They have suggested that the awareness is important but what if everyone is aware about bicycle safety but not interested in following the rules.

In conclusion, before thinking that the awareness is more important than wearing a helmet, the types of studies and the statistical comparison of the study is important. An the kind of accidents and the reasons of accident should be considered as a facts and then after it should be decided what is important.