The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of movie-rental stores."Because of declining profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore's ten movie-rental stores. Raising prices is not a good option, since

In the memo from the owner of a chain of movie-rental store;he has introduced a problem regarding decrease in profit and suggested two remedies to overcome the problem. One of them is closing the store earlier than the regular time just as they have done in their store located in downtown Marston; which was proven profitable. And as the second remedy he has thought to reduce the store inventory by no longer storing the DVDs more than five years old. But in doing so he has forgotten to look into few possibilities. So,it would be perfunctory to implement new policies to overcome the problem without proper analysis of those possibilities.

First he has asked to reduce the operating expenses at the DVD store but he has not given possible way to achieve that. And said that they are famous for low prices so increase in price would be useless. Further he has explained that reducing the working our the store located at the downtown Marston is proven profitable;so they should replicate the same policy here. He has indirectly assumed that the people here have the same time arrangement as the people in downtown. May be in downtown crowd there is comparatively low and it is not useful to open the store after 6 p.m. or may be the pick up hours for the other stores are after evening or at night. If that is true than it would be proven an exact opposite policy for the other stores.

After that he has suggested on more solution that they must reduce the storing of more than 5 years old DVDs. By doing so he has assumed that the DVDs older than 5 years are demanded very less. May be people buying DVDs are looking for older DVDs more than the newly came movie-DVDs. And he has stated that this implemented new policies have received very few complaints but if such policies are suitable for the people in downtown it does not mean that people visiting other stores are happily convinced with this. May be they will not be comfortable with the time changing and the stock reducing policy.

Summing up every possibilities to the solutions change, it is clear that the owner need to do some more research on the climate of every store. Owner should look for the best time that can be profitable for the store and after that he can apply that operating hours reducing policy. Owner should have some statastical data about which DVDs are in demand and then decide about that stock reducing idea. And before applying the same alteration in every stores he should look for the possible circumstances at every store.