Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archa

In the Given context the author has concluded from few evidences that the palean baskets were not uniquely Palean. In order to conclude that the author taken support of few things these Palean baskets were made only by the people of the prehistoric village Palea. Further he said to have traces of palean baskets in the village named Lithos,too. The village was located across the Brim river which was very deep and broad. And there was no signs of possible transport across the river was found. So possibilities of the Palean baskets to be native to that village Palea is less. But in doing so author has neglected to analyse few facts and they can be lead the conclusion in negative direction.

First author has stated that the palean baskets were made only by the people of Palea. But there is no strong evidence that can prove the uniqueness of the baskets. May be the baskets were made from the material that is found only in village Palea and that is the reason why it is known as a palean basket. Or may be palean people were the only seller of that kind of baskets or maybe it was the biggest market in that era for that particular item.

Next in the paragraph author has said that they have also founded such a palean basket in the village Lithos.Village is across the river and the river is very wide and deep. But it is the condition of the river now. There is no proof that the river was similar deep and wide at that time too. Maybe some natural disasters and consequences have changed the river. May be the river was shallow and narrow at that time. And people were able to walk by or swim to cross the river and sell those baskets in Lithos. So assuming that river could have crossed only if they had boats is not valid. May be people of Lithos were the huge buyer of such baskets. And even if the river could be deep or wide maybe the people of Lithos or Palea were dexterous enough to swim across the riven and sell or buy those baskets.

Summing up,if the author wants to assert that the palean baskets were not uniquely palean few more details about the given facts are need to analyse more. Author should have the data about the condition of the river Brim at that time. And may be people of Palea or Lithos have founded some other mode of transportation. All the facts should be considered and analyse before concluding anything.