55. In order for any work of art - for example, a film, a novel, a poem, or a song- to have merit, it must be understandable to most people.

Some people argue that a work of art has no value when not many people cannot understand its meaning. While accessibility is one of the virtue of arts, as suggested by the statement, I believe it is not necessarily true.

Admittedly, the more understandable a work of art is, the more effect and benefit it brings to the society. Evaluation on a work of art is basically up to those who comprehend and enjoy it. Thus, when a piece of art is too extricate to understand, lesser people would recognize its value and its merit to the society will be significantly diminished. Avantgarde music in 20th century, for instance, is highly disparaged because its intricacy made itself extremely esoteric. People did not understand what the music tried to deliver, and moved to pop music, which they were more familiar with. Likewise, considering art is also the object of consumption, art definitely have more value when more people understand it.

However, we can not deny the fact that even intricate arts can have significant value and become masterpieces. Even some works enjoyed by few people can have scholar importance and thereby give significant contribution to the society. "Ulysses" by James Joyce is an epitome of intricate literature which is highly regarded by many people. Though ordinary people cannot even have a grasp of the contents novel, many scholars extol the novel for its sophisticated linguistics and artistic composition. Likewise, intricacy of an art do not clearly rule out the possibility it gains fame.

Even arts currently denigrated and ignored can be revisited in the future. Social contexts where people perceive arts gradually evolve and along with view toward the works of arts. The aforementioned avantgarde music ended up with big failure as contemporary people did not understand. But some of its components such as minimalism evolved as time went by and many musicians in various genres started adopting the techniques, and ideas avantgarde music used. Likewise, though a art of work might be currently esoteric, we don't know how the value of it be in the future.

In conclusion, the statement is skewed toward overdone generalization on what the value of art is. Indeed, even arts hard to understand can have significant value, or be revisited in the future as views toward art change