103. The best ideas arise from a passionate interest in commonplace things.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The best ideas are often depicted as thoughts which are superior to other mediocre ones and significantly alter the way we approach issues in our lives. Given this extraordinary characteristic of great ideas, it is seemingly reasonable to believe that they have singular origin, as there natures are. However, this essay would argue that the statement often holds true.

Definitely, in many fields, thinking of box inspired from uncommon stimulus, often leads to an excellent idea whereas trivial thoughts in commonplace things, though passionately made or not, easily yield tepid outcomes. In many fields, many impassioned searches for brilliant ideas end up with failure when researchers got seized within the boundary of ordinary things. which have been thoroughly examined and now have almost nothing to be advanced. However, turning our eyes to uncommon things often presents us unexpected insights. Biomimetics, for example, are used for searching for engineering breakthrough by mimicking how animals and and insects exert so great motional performances, which is totally out of realm of technologies.

However we cannot relegate interest in commonplace things to entire futility. Contrary to many people's perception that prodigious people bring up with great ideas out of the blue, or inspiration from unusual experiences play the key role, these seemingly sudden burst of idea are built upon extensive studies on ordinary things, as suggested by the statement. Einstein's relativity epitomizes this point. While people believe this entirely new theory as the product of pure creativity and impact from esoteric interest, it was completed via thoroughly examining Newton's dynamics, which was commonplace and mainstream in that era.

Without Einstein's interest and endeavors to ameliorate ordinary physics, the breakthrough would have never happened.

Like Einstein's case, if we delve into how our thoughts advances and breakthroughs, we can find that novelty triggers the emergence of the best idea, but its foundation is passionate interest in banal issues in the field. Without having tackled with commonplace things, one hardly possesses creativity to originally apply exogenous insights to pre-existing endeavors. Hence, passionately learning ordinary things is not mutually exclusive with thinking out of the box, but serve as prerequisite of it. Many shining cases of brilliant ideas are hyped as sudden to show achiever's success, but are exaggerated.

In conclusion, while the statement presents fails to present sufficient condition of the best idea, it suggests the necessary condition of it at least, which I think is cogent.