The best ideas arise from a passionate interest in commonplace things.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Science is all around us and when start asking the right questions, ideas are born. Here the topic suggests that the best ideas arise from a passionate interest in commonplace things. Personally, I corroborate with the statement and think that passion and necessity are the founding stones for all the best ideas and inventions, but the representation that “best ideas” only come out of passion is where I have my reservations. Thus, I agree with passion being an integral part of being the source of ideas, but the all or nothing attitude around it seems excessive.

Firstly, the commonplace things are generally the place where we get most of our inspiration from, especially when we can strike a balance between the passion behind and the necessity of the idea. Most of our initial inventions started with a goal of making the human life easy and efficient. When our ancestors saw a spark when they rubbed two stones or saw a stone running downhill, they got interested in the phenomenon and gave birth to the most important ideas of mankind. To summarise that, most of the inventions in the ancient time was to ease human existence. As time went on the technology kept evolving and the chances of interest turning into inventions became better. For instance, the invention of the camera or telephones are epitomes of ideas that could make everyday activities of talking with people and preserving memories into the ideas that brought paradigm shift in the human lives.

Secondly, let us shift our focus from some thought out inspirations to accidental ideas caused due to an interest in quotidian activities. The time when the Kellogg brothers were trying to make bread by boiling granola, but left the batter out for too long, causing it to go soggy and giving rise to cornflakes. Or the time when, an 11-year-old left soda with flavour syrup and stirrer and formed the first popsicle. Furthermore, recently during the pandemic many people realised their true passions and started small home-based businesses to help the community and empower themselves.

Finally, before concluding, even though most of the statement has many aspects to make you consider it, but that should be done only if we are fully aware of the shortcomings of this proposed statement. There are many ideas, that require a long amount of time to be formulated and experimented, before they are released for public usage. Some of the top examples for that can be, the covid vaccines, Newton’s long drawn experiments to come up with the laws of motion etc. These ideas make us notice, that inspiration can lead us to a certain extent, but post that rigorous research and dedication is required to bring them to life.

In conclusion, mostly the findings are oriented in examining common things from the passionate interest however there are certain finding or innovations which need great enthusiasm in order to discover them.