In this age of intensive media coverage, it is no longer possible for a society to regard any living man or woman as a hero.

We are living in an age of technology and advancements in technology has made the lives of those worthy of the title hero, more easily accessible to the public. The lives of our superstars are continuously under the radar and observation of the paparazzi. They continuously monitor the stars and look to bring out the personal lives of the celebrities to the public. By doing so, a lot of sensitive information comes to the surface and as a result people loose their interests and beliefs in their heroes. So, it has become increasingly difficult at present to consider someone as a hero.

To begin, a good public image is very important to have the title of a hero. People consider humanitarians, favorite athletes, movie stars , scientists, teachers and people of many other professions as their heroes. The media tend to always follow the famous people around and cover every aspect of their lives. They may be recorded eating at a resturant or shopping or even going for a walk. So, the media know no personal boundaries and since no one is perfect, it is very easy for their flaws to come to light. And with the creation of various social networking platforms such as Youtube, Facebook, Twitter, Instagram etc. people get more access to the daily lives of their heroes and hence can easily come to observe any flaws of the stars. For instance, Justin Beiber, the famous pop singer, was considered as an idol by millions of followers. But when Justin was found by the media to be taking recreational drugs, the opinions of the public changed in an instant. They began abhoring someone that they so dearly followed.

Furthermore, no one is perfect and everyone tends to have some flaws. These problems may be very minor but when people see their idols having such minor troubles, they have a tendency to overreact. Some celebrities are very careful to hide their problems while others not so much. As a result, something unwanted is bound to come out.

In conclusion, it is theoretically possible that some of our celebrities might be able to maintain their status as heroes but practically it is very difficult in the modern age of mass media dominance. The stars need to be very careful about what they are doing in public and keep in mind that they are followed by millions of people around the globe.