Some people believe it is often necessary, even desirable, for political leaders to withhold information from the public. Others believe that the public has a right to be fully informed.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Political leaders are the ones who get the chance to run the nation after being elected and then forming the government. To become a good politician one needs to be dynamic, honest, sagacious, calm and composed. According to the prompt, one group believes that it is necessary for political leaders to withhold information from the public. On the other hand, others have the view that the public has the right to every information. This essay intends to discuss both the views and delve into the pros and cons of both sides.

To begin with, to become a successful political leader, one needs the confidence of his party members. If the politician continues to give out certain secret matters out to the public, he is bound to face problems within his own party. There are a lot of sensitive information which if leaked to the public might bring a lot of repercussions. For instance, Bangladesh was supposed to get the Corona vaccine produced in China. But the deal made between the two countries had the condition that Bangladesh must not reveal the cost price of the vaccines. What happened was one of the political leaders, gave this information to the media. The result was that China then disagreed to supply any vaccine to Bangladesh. So, this information needed to be kept from the public for their own good.

Again, the public does have the right to know what goes on in the country. Due to lack of transparency from the politicians, they get a lot of chance for corruption and without a doubt a lot of countries are facing this situation. The leaders are filling their pockets with black money and keeping it in the Swiss Bank and are buying properties abroad where they do not face any troubles doing so. As a result, the countries are loosing a lot of money. For instance, it was found that one of the political leaders of Bangladesh was involved with the casino business which is illegal over there. By this business he built a huge empire and laundered huge amount of money abroad.

In conclusion, whether the political leaders will provide a specific piece of information to the public needs to be considered carefully. Sensitive information which might cause harm to the country needs to be kept hidden and other information which will propel the country forward needs to be publicized heavily.