An ailing patient should have easy access to his or her doctor’s record of treating similarly afflicted patients. Through gaining such access, the ailing patient may better determine whether the doctor is competent to treat that medical condition.

Choosing a doctor is a very tough decision that involves a lot of research, hesitation and most of all trust. An ailing patient goes through arguably the most difficult times of his/her life, is probably nervous, agitated and in such circumstances he/she has to decide who to trust the most valuable thing one has – own life. Some argue that the more informed one is the better is the choice, so an ailing patient should have an access to his or her doctor’s record of treating similarly afflicted patients. Whether or not this would be a reasonable practice can be a matter of discussion.

By getting access to the doctor’s record can be more informative than just online research. A patient will understand more about the doctor’s practice and learn some intimate details that are not otherwise publically available. This information will enable him or her to compare different doctors; decide whose methods are more compatible, who is technologically more advanced and who has a better success rate in treating similarly afflicted patients. As Socrates says “the only good is knowledge and the only evil is ignorance”, so some might argue that acquiring information about the person who will literally have your life in his or her hands can never be surfeit, on the contrary it will enable you to make the most knowledgeable decision. In addition, the more you know about your doctor the more you can trust him and according to the widespread belief, trust is key to defeating the illness. When a patient is confident that he/she has the best doctor whose record is superb, he/she will be more relaxed, comfortable and docile to the cure.

However, it should be noted that no two cases of the ailing patients are exactly the same. There are always some abstruse, intricate details involved that vary from patient to patient and even by looking at the records of the similarly afflicted patients it would be wrong to assume that your condition is entirely the same. What works for one patient might not work for another, so looking at the methods a doctor used for treating someone else might give a specious impression that the same methods will be used and will work for you. In addition, not everyone without medical education can clearly understand medical records and misreading or misinterpreting the facts can once again lead to spurious assumptions. Judging by the success rate only might also be wrong. Even the most adroit doctors won’t have 100% success rate. On the contrary, the best doctors generally get the most difficult cases that are the hardest to cure. Consequently, a patient might feel frightened, discouraged and hopeless learning about the failures of the renowned doctors in treating similar conditions.

Lastly, doctor’s record is revelatory of not only doctor’s performance but of other patient’s conditions and personal information as well. It would a breaching of doctor-patient confidentiality to have a patient’s records available to all other similarly afflicted patients. It would be ethically wrong to make a patient’s intimate records available to strangers when some details are even hidden from the family members.

It is not always the best to know everything. Although some might argue otherwise, there exists such thing as an “excess knowledge” that can do not good but rather harm one’s decision and make it even harder to make. Unarguably, a patient must do a research, amass as much information about the doctor as possible, but some records are meant to be private for the sake of all patients’ confidentiality, confidence and trust.