An ailing patient should have easy access to his or her doctor’s record of treating similarly afflicted patients. Through gaining such access, the ailing patient may better determine whether the doctor is competent to treat that medical condition.

The issue states that an ailing patient should have access to his or her doctor's previous records, of treating similarly afflicted patients; as, such an access will enable the patient to evaluate the competency of the doctor to treat that medical condition. This is tantamount to saying that just by analyzing previous records of success or failures, we can conclude whether the person is competent in that field or not.Of course, we cannot expect everyone to be a savant in every field, hence we need some kind of proof in order to rely on the other person; thus looking at the past records is quite an enabler for one to come to a conclusion. This is further elucidated in the following paragraphs.

When we purchase a new house, we do keep in mind the goodwill and reputation of the builder, and the success of the builder's earlier projects.Looking at his previous projects we are assured that the builder uses quality cement, delivers what he promises with world class construction and amenities. Insight from his previous works,is one of the most influencing factors for us do decide whether we are investing in the right project or not, after all for some it is their entire life's savings that is at stake; so without any previous record of good projects , it will be difficult for one to decide. New projects hence face a challenge when they are launched, and take time to convince people of their quality work because they do not having anything to show.

Similarly, when we choose a school or a college or a coaching institute for our children, we go by the results of the previous batch, one which has maximum number of top scorers and dedicated staff and faculty becomes the uncontentious choice.Again here also, if a new school is coming up, or a new coaching institute is starting in the vicinity of your household, you would attend a multitude of their demo classes , do research on their faculty's' qualifications, before choosing that particular institute.Hence, to bring home the point, we need previous data of success to evaluate one's competency arrive at a decision.

Why do you think there are entrance tests and interviews at schools or colleges for admissions? Just like parents want to be sure of the success of the institute through their previous years' results, likewise the schools also want to know, their future batch is equally competent or not to face the rigorous academic syllabus.Since for kindergarten students, no such data is available in the form of previous class grades, schools rely on entrance tests to evaluate the new admissions.

Even brands have to prove their competencies again and again, by showing testimonials and survey results of the feedback of their products. And it is because of these very survey results or testimonials which are nothing but equivalent to brands' previous records of success, do we put our faith in that particular brand, and buy their products.This is the very reason to build credibility, that car companies give test drives, and food brands give free tasting samples.

Thus, according to the aforementioned paradigms, I concur that it is of paramount importance to have access to doctor's previous records of treating similarly afflicted patients, to determine whether the doctor is competent or not to treat that medical condition. We are after all placing our lives into the hands of another person, we must be able to trust him or her with our life, hence the criticality of access to previous records.