All nations should help support the development of a global university designed to engage students in the process of solving the world's most persistent social problems

The author above statement asserts that all the nations should help and aid the development of a global university which will be designed to engage students in the process of solving the world’s most persistent problems. The statement may seem a bit far-fetched and ideal but at the same time would be difficult to implement too.

The world today is advancing at a tremendous rate, be it social sciences, technology, arts or economics. Many countries have reformed themselves, brought about changes from within to help the nation progress. But at the same time there are a few countries like Syria, Equatorial Guinea and North Korea whose governments believe in oppression of their populace. Such governments would definitely not take part in the funding of a global university since they are unmoved by the welfare of the people and are only interested in retaining their power. This would lead to a decrease in the number of countries participating in the joint venture eventually leading to a fallout.

Secondly, There are infinite different cultures, religions on the face of the Earth with people belonging from all walks of caste and creed. Each nation will not face the same problem as of the other nation. For India, specifically Haryana, rape culture is one such insect that the government wants to eradicate. For the United States Of America, amendment in the guns act would be a priority considering the increase in past attacks on the common population, citing the abuse of weapons. Hence a university involving students from all over the world would not be able to realize the problems of another country over theirs leading to disharmony and discord which would eventually result in dissatisfactory functioning of the university.

Also, we all can agree that the world in getting unified and all the various, discrete countries are getting together as one, globalization is still not fully attained. People speak various languages which could cause a communication gap between the students in the university. This in turn would lead to a poor exchange of ideas between them eventually not helping eradicate the social problems faced by the world.

Finally, since the advent of technology, its growth has been unstoppable. People from different countries can easily communicate with each other just by dialing a few digits in their telephones, or even video chat using a personal computer. So my question is, when we have such a powerful tool at our disposal in which we can solve our problems remotely, why squander millions of dollars on a project which could in a way be a huge and irreversible toll on a poor country’s economy.

The time is yet to arrive when all the barriers relating to language, social and economic differences will become shackles leading to an ideal scenario where there are no countries but just one world, trying to resolve its issues. Hence, for all the reasons that I have enumerated above, I feel the idea of developing a global university, as blazing as it sounds, not well thought of. It would be just like the Tower Of Babel where people just gather around from different parts of the world leading to no fruitful result.