Students should memorize facts only after they have studied the ideas, trends, and concepts that help explain those facts. Students who have learned only facts have learned very little

A fact is a piece of information, while ideas, trends and concepts provide a setting for the analysis and interpretation of facts. All of them together constitute education.The true worth of education lies in reasoning and not in memorizing.Students should learn to apply the facts using ideas and concepts rather than mugging them up.

The answer to why memorizing facts is a part of education lies perhaps in history. In olden days, means for documentation and communication of information were not as widespread and pervasive as they are today. Before the written script was invented, in order to propagate mores and traditions, people would learn them by rote and transmit them orally to future generations. In such a mileau, memorization was an integral part of learning. Especially for religious education, students would spend years learning the scriptures by heart.

But today, we are witnessing a completely different scenario. Today's age is called the 'Information Age'. Storage and transmission of data were never so easy as now. Thus the human brain need not be regarded as repository of information anymore. Gigabytes of data can be fitted into a tiny disk accessible from any part of the world via the Internet. In the modern world, therefore, the focus of education has shifted from rote learning to critical thinking. Since computers are readily available to perform the mundane tasks of memorizing, the power of the human brain needs to be harnessed to the more important task of understanding.

One concept is equivalent to a hundred facts.For instance, Kepler gave an equation which said that the square of the time taken for one revolution by a planet was directly proportional to the cube of its distance from the sun. In the absence of this concept, we would have to rely on a memorized table containing the lengths of a year for every planet. Also, facts need to continually revised as they are easily forgotten. On the other hand, it is more difficult to forget an idea or concept.

It is difficult to apply a fact to any arbitrary situation as facts are specialised instances of past occurrences. To the contrary, we can apply an idea or concept to a wide range of situations. To give an analogy- a fact is an already shaped pot whereas an idea or concept is akin to the potter's wheel where we can shape new pots for every occasion.

The importance of facts varies widely from discipline to discipline. For example, in the creative arts like drawing, painting facts are almost non-existent with the emphasis on creativity and understanding certain techniques instead. After all, a painter can never memorise every brush stroke! On the other hand, facts still play an important role in the sciences. However a science student has to additionally keep in mind that a fact is not absolute but it is only what we think at present. For example, light was thought to be a wave before Planck's quantum theory.

Any student has to remember a modicum of facts however. It wouldn't make much sense to refuse to learn the English alphabet without understanding the concept behind it or to learn geometry without memorizing the axioms. However facts can only act as a foundation for education. The real construction lies in interpreting the facts and applying them as and when required.

The days of memorizing facts only in the name of education are long past. Today we are witnessing a revolution of sorts. New terms like 'lateral thinking' are the buzzwords of the present.Thus before committing anything to memory, students should develop a healthy sense of enquiry and go into the ideas , trends and concepts behind those facts.