All parents should be required to volunteer time to their children's schools.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

There is a widespread opinion that all parents should be obliged to volunteer in their children's schools. I can only partly agree with this statement, and in that, response I want to critically discuss it.

Inevitably, there are few points that make me support this claim. I consider education to be a multi-dimensional phenomenon where many actors are involved. I believe that collaborative educational practices are highly important in children’s development. It means that not only school staff from one side and children on the other are the part of the process. Parents here can perform as mediators that can influence the education settings. From that idea I derive that parents should necessarily participate in the school life, and should be required to volunteer in order to structure their school activity and implement the most effective allocation of parental human resource. That step will maximize the probability that the parents will indeed collaborate in school education of their children.

Yet, I do account for the fact that ideal role of parents in their children’s school education cannot be fully performed in reality. And for that reason, any legal obligations may be problematic and can even contributed bad to the educational process. Ideally, there should be a trialogue between children, school staff and parents where all the actors are interested in contribution to the quality of education. So, instead of obligating parents to volunteer in schools, it is important to develop a special culture based on consciousness and not strict requirements. Yet, this position can be also challenge with the claim that it is plausible to introduce some temporal requirements to create that sort of cultural, as it is with gender quotas in many professional spheres.

After, that I want to have a more precise look at the formulation of that claim. Here I have another two concerns. The first one is related to the phrase “all parents” meaning that the requirement has no exceptions. At the same time, some group of people may be excluded from this obligation. For instance, certain parents are not capable to hold additional obligation above their work or parental obligation due to the specifics of their professional activity or health. Another question is in the necessity of such requirement for the parents that work in school, and have a direct and observable contribution to the development of education. The second concern is related to the mutual correspondence of the terms “requirement” and “volunteer”. The latter word comes from Latin, and in many languages the words of the same root (for example, volonté in French) has substantive implication of free will. Thus, volunteering can be defined as an activity that requires person’s free will and therefore cannot be a requirement in itself, as it creates an oxymoron.