All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with these statements and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statements might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position

The first thing to note in order to effectively justify or disagree with this statement is the juxta positioning of the expertise of the consultants and the employees.

While it would be very okay to agree with the stated position, the expertise of the consultants must be examined. For example, for one to be a consultant, there is an expectation that such a person must be a pundit or authority in that field. This will definitely be of immense advantage to the company by leveraging on the wealth of experience such consultant possesses. By adjucating several similar companies’ decisions and proven record of success in that endeavor, taking a consultant to advance the operation, profit, and system of a company would be a great plus.

However, in situation where the said consultant is not well experienced as compared to an average employee, then hiring such consultant would be unnecessary and could be harmful to the company. For example, he can give advices that could be detrimental to the advancement of the company. Also, the cost of hiring such a maladroit individual are most times high, considering their pays, thereby affecting the purse of the company.

Hiring an imperious consultant may also pose a threat to the employees. For example, if the ways suggested by the consultant are not okay, the employees might feel insecure and undervalued, thereby reducing their work morale, productivity, security and resulting to the devolving of the company rather than its advancement. Also hiring a consultant to suggest ways to advance the operation of a company may prove inefficient especially when the opinions and views of the employees are not valued, for most times, by reason of proximity, employees are more familiar with the operations of a company and can suggest the best solutions for advancing operations, However, if they are bad employees and their opinions are not valued, they would not like the ideas suggested by the consultant to come into fruition.

In conclusion, while it might be okay to hire skilled and beneficial consultants to advance the policies and operations of a company, hiring an unskilled one may be to the detriment of a company. Also, promotion of the ideas and opinions of employees could offer immense gains than that of an outsider as this makes the employees to feel valued.