All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with these statements and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statements might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The given issue questions if external consultants should be hired in order to make decisions for companies so that they can operate more efficiently. It also states that if companies asked their own employees instead, they would not need to hire such consultants. Consultants generally are hired when a company wants to make an important business decision, or when it cannot decide what decision to make. They also may be needed when the company is in a money or time crunch and is unable to make a good decision. I personally believe that having a consultant for your company can be beneficial. Hence, through the following points, I will explain why I only partially agree with the issue stated.

Firstly, consultancy is a profession of its own, and people study and work really hard in order to work as good consultants. They are educated in such a way they should be able to handle the issues which companies face on a daily basis. Hence, I believe that if a consultant is given a task to a company to make an important business decision, he will try his best to make it work for the company. Consultants might have their own set of points or a well-defined plan which will help them make the right choice for the firm. These skill sets might not be acquired by employees who are already in the company.

Although, some people might argue saying that the company employees should have a fair share in the company's decision-making process. Employees might know some things about the firm, that the consultant might not even know. I would not deny this fact, but I would rather say that even though the involvement of employees in such things is important, they might not be the perfect people to analyze the issues at hand and suggest a solution. This might be because they are not doing this every day, whereas a consultant on the other hand is solving issues for companies on a day-to-day basis.

Moreover, if the employees are asked for suggestions or solutions to the problems at hand, they might suggest a solution that is beneficial for themselves instead of thinking of the company as a whole. This might cause an increase in bias in the company's decisions. Ar external consultant on the other hand will have a completely fresh overview of the company's problem and thus would give an extremely unbiased solution.

Hence, I would like to conclude by saying that even though company employees would know more about the internal workings of a company, hiring an outside consultant would definitely increase the operational efficiency of the firm. An internal employee can be used to assist the consultant in his work, so as to let him know better about the company's internal work+low, but the decision-making task should be handed over to the consultant.