A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The given issue states whether students should be studying the same national curriculum until they enter college or not. I personally believe this has its set of pros and cons, but I also believe that if certain things are not followed this might be disadvantageous for the students. Thus, I will be explaining my points of view on this topic and will be telling why I partially agree with this statement.

If the curriculum is such that it covers most aspects of all sciences and fields of study, that may be beneficial for the students. While this may expose the student to a wide variety of topics at once, it will also help them choose better on which major to choose when in college. A standard syllabus will also help the nation to be sure about the literacy level of the students. It helps them to justify the fact that their students are educated at least up to a certain level, and are qualified for higher degree courses in college.

Although this might be a good thing for standardizing the level of education of students before college, it may lead to some problems. The first one being zero percent diversity in learning and knowledge. The information and subjects that will be learned by all students will be the same, and there will be no distinguishing factor in any of them. Furthermore, this will make it tougher for students while getting into colleges as everyone will be qualified only up to a certain level and universities won't find the X factor that they are looking for in the student.

Also, students might not even be interested to come to school, if they are teaching subjects that the student does not like. A person will do something willingly only if he or she likes it. If the student is interested in only one subject in school, and does not like the other topics at all, that may cause him or her to get bored during the other lectures. This may also lead to the student leaving the school just because he is not getting enough time to learn the subject that he likes.

Thus, I would like to conclude by saying that the national curriculum should be designed in a way that is appropriate for the students. Although the foundations of each topic should be built strong, the student should also be able to choose the subject that he likes and should be given more time to study the same.