The following is a memorandum from the business of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the given argument, the business manager of a television station states that, in order to increase their viewership and avoid losing money, they should increase the time devoted to weather and local news. I will be discussing why doing this might not be the right thing to do, with the given data.

It is stated that during the past 1 year, most of the complaints received from viewers were about the station's coverage of weather and local news. Although, this point does not mention how many viewers complained about the news. What were the complaints about? The complaints might be about some technical glitches that happened during the news feed and might not be related to the news content that was being shown.

Furthermore, the argument also states that local businesses that used to advertise during their late-night programs have canceled their contracts with them. Even though this might be a major loss for the news company, the argument nowhere mentions that the broadcasting of weather and local news was the major cause of this. Did the news channel try to find out from the advertisers why they pulled out? Do they know the actual reason behind the local business stopping the advertisements on their channel? It might be that the businesses started running well, thus they did not feel the need to advertise further.

Finally, the suggestion made by the business manager is that they should increase the time devoted to weather and local news to its initial level to attract more viewers and avoid losing any further revenues. What is the guarantee that this will be beneficial for them? The argument does not mention the count of people that are interested in weather and local news anywhere. Was there any survey conducted on this? If there are no interested viewers for this category as well, there will be simply no change in the viewership and revenues of the news firm even after working on the suggested changes by the business manager.

Thus, in conclusion, I would like to say that the news firm should first try to gauge how many viewers are actually interested in their weather and local news. According to that data, they should make an informed decision whether to change the content broadcasted on their news channel, or make any other hanges.