As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate

I don't wholly agree with the stated issue, but I would rather say that technology has its fair share of pros and cons. It has its advantages and disadvantages.

Technology has definitely been a boon for mankind seeing the technological progress in many countries on a large scale. Humans previously had to physically visit a person just to talk to them. Imagine the time and cost that we are saving now, compared to that when a person would have had to spend his resources, money, and time just to meet a person who is in another country. Nowadays we can just talk with whoever we want to, with a simple phone call. Technology has brought communities together. It doesn't matter what part of the globe you lie on You can connect, and share your ideas and thoughts with people regardless of where they reside. Technology has given us a platform to put forth our ideas to millions and millions of people living around the world and thus make a positive impact.

And as everyone knows, everything has its pros and cons. Same is the case with technology. There has been research that says that in a few years the attention span of a human being will be lesser than a goldfish, which is about 5 seconds. And the culprit for this is none other than technology. Humans have started being addicted to their phones so much that for every other task, they depend on it. The amount of processing power in phones, and the number of applications that try to make human life easier, have in a way stopped us from taking steps involving hard work to achieve our day-to-day tasks. We have started relying on technology so much that we now need to use a calculator to do simple calculations that we could've easily done in our school days. It is technology, that is keeping people glued to their screens instead of interacting with the person sitting right beside them.

If this continues for the next 10 or 20 years, it might happen that the future generations of humans will be physiologically lesser developed or less capable human beings then what we are now. And the only way to stop this is by self control. That is the only way we can ensure that we don't use technology for each and every small task that we need to complete, but only for the ones that require a significant amount of resources or finances.