All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with these statements and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statements might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Though employees deem that they know what is best for the company, companies should hire outside consultants to help the company operate more effectively, as the consultants are unbiased, trained, and will be able to keep peace within the office.

Firstly, consultants are come into the office as a neutral party. Many times, employees have biased opinions on how they think the company should operate. However, the employees only look at the company from one perspective. The outside consultants do not have any preconceived notions of the company, and are therefore, able to give a clear headed third party perspective on the company’s most efficient way to operate. They do not favor one person over another, but people within the office do. Thus, if the company were to listen to their employees on how to run, the company would not benefit.

Secondly, the consultants are trained in how to help companies operate most efficiently. This is their living, as opposed to the company’s employees who do not have this background. The company’s employees should focus on their own job and try to make their job run as smoothly as possible, as opposed to trying to calculate someone else’s job. For instance, if one person is an artist, then they are not necessarily an art store owner, who knows how to run a proper business; therefore, if the artist would want to open a store, he/she would either hire someone or take some time off from painting and learn how to manage a store. Nonetheless, this would mean that the artist would not be focused on his/her painting. Similarly, if the employee is worrying about how to operate their company most efficiently, then he/she is not completely focused on their job. A company should not give its employees an option to try to act as consultants, and should bring in outside consultants who are trained in this field.

Lastly, outside consultants would help keep harmony within the company. Differing opinions on how the company should operate can drift employees apart, forcing the company to fall apart. However, with outside consultants, the employees’ opinions will be dismissed, which will mitigate arguments amongst the employees. The outside consultants will only keep the peace in the office, while imparting their wisdom and benefiting the company.

Despite the fact that consultants are neutral and trained, they might not understand the intricacies of the specific companies that hire them. In many companies, politics and hierarchies are key to the foundation of the company. The outside consultants may be unaware of these, and may try to change or eradicate them, which are the key foundations of the company. Because of the extensive history of the company, outside consultants may not be beneficial to the company in these circumstances.

Companies may wish to listen to their employees about how to operate, but outside consultants would be beneficial for the company since outside consultants offer unbiased opinions, are trained in this field, and can keep peace within the office. Companies can act as a role model for other and take the appropriate measures to ensure efficient operations and happy employees.