Although sound moral judgment is an important characteristic of an effective leader, it is not as important as a leader’s ability to maintain the respect of his or her peers.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Leadership is probably the most important skill to possess in the contemporary world. However, to become a good leader, the approach to leadership is more critical than just possessing the ability to lead. The prompt recommends that leaders should adopt practices that allow leaders to maintain the respect of their peers and not worry all that much about making a sound moral judgment. In my opinion, I strongly agree with the prompt for the following two reasons.

To begin with, a leader is only as good as the people around him. In other words, the effectiveness of a leader is highly influenced by the advice given by his/her contemporaries, which further depends on the degree of reverence the leader's peers have for him/her. For instance, the Indian Prime Minister, Narendra Singh Modi, a member of the BJP political party, his highly revered by the members of the parliament. While there are thousands of people in the country who call him a fascist, the member of his cabinet still respect him and believe in him. This respect and trust in him, allowed Modi to come up with effective strategies to combat the spread of the deadly Corona virus (COVID-19). These strategies, however, were not the work of the prime minister alone, but the combined effort of the cabinet of ministers who readily advised the prime minister. The ministers helped the prime minister so readily due to their reverence of the prime minister. The above example illustrates that for a leader to be effective in crunch situations, he/she needs to be respected by his/her peers in order to make the right decision.

Further, if a leader his not respected by his/her peers, why will anyone else pay heed to what the leader says. For example, say a leader is not well respected by his/her peers. The common man outside the leadership framework interprets this lack of respect as a lack of trust. Now the common man starts to question why he/she should listen to a leader, to whom even his/her peers don't trust and believe in. In such a scenario, any policy enforced by the leader, even if it is beneficial to the people, will be looked askance by the people the leader rules over. This example clearly shows how a leader who is not respected by his/her peers will be highly ineffective when comes to implementing policies.

Of course, a few people argue that making sound moral judgments is paramount to implement effective policies. However, isn't this precisely why leaders should worry more about the respect they get from their peers? A leader who is respected by his/her peers will have a strong advisory network, which further becomes a strong base from which he/she can implement very "effective policies". In conclusion, a leader who garners the respect of his contemporaries will be able to make better decisions.