The following is an excerpt from a speech given to the School Board about a change to the curriculum:

"Because the future will be dominated by technology, we must make four years of computer programming mandatory for all high school students. If our students take these classes, they’ll all be able to get high-paying programming jobs and lead fulfilling lives because software engineers and data scientists have the best job prospects and salaries. Therefore, we must educate our students so they can secure these kinds of jobs. Even if they pursue other careers, programming will still benefit them, given that all industries are becoming more technological."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The speech given at the School Board argues that education on computer programming should be made mandatory for all high school students for a time period of four years. The argument reaches this conclusion based on its belief that software engineers and data analysts have the best job prospects and salaries. It also mentions that since technology is present in every field, computer programming will benefit students who pursue other careers. The argument makes several assumptions in order to develop its conclusion, the validity of which can only be evaluated after the following evidences are provided.

Firstly, the argument needs to makes clear on what basis it states that software engineers and data analysts will have the best job prospects and salaries. It is possible that the current job market for software is looking good, but a market crash can render the job market obsolete. Furthermore, there are other fields apart from computer software that are developing and have great job opportunities, such as biotechnology and economics; the argument does not make clear why computer programming is chosen over these fields.

Secondly, the argument needs to make clear how effective this plan would be when it comes to students who have no interest or necessary skills for the same. It is fair to assume that a student who has no interest or skill for the field of computer science will invariably do badly, and hence not get a job, leaving him/her in a desperate state. In such a case the argument is rendered invalid.

Another point the argument needs to address is to what degree, the education in computer programming will help students pursuing other careers. The argument states that since technology is used in every field, students would benefit from learning computer science. However, it is possible that the technology used in a certain field is minor and does not require four years of formal computer science education to master. In this case the student is learning subjects which have no direct benefit to his/her career. In this process, the student looses out on valuable time which he/she could have spent doing something more releveant to his/her field of interest.

In conclusion, the argument as it now stands is severly flawed due to its dependance on several unwarranted assumption. If the argument can provide the above mentioned evidences, then its would be possible to systematically evaluate the validity of the argument.