Although sound moral judgment is an important characteristic of an effective leader, it is not as important as a leader’s ability to maintain the respect of his or her peers.

Probity does not always provide a leader with a boon.

A strong scrupulous nature in a leader can enable him or her to make decisions that is often venerated in the world. For example, Mahatma Gandhi was esteemed for his sound moral judgement, even great world leaders like Nelson Mandela followed his path of non-violence. He is still venerated as a world leader in the entire world. Hence, sound moral judgement has a perennial effect in the world.

While strong moral conscience can be valued in the world, it may have a subversive effect on the people immediately affected by that conscience. People often consider the immediate consequences of a judgement and not the long term ones and hence they value only those decisions that have an immediate positive effect on them. Hence, in this case, the leader will not be venerated by the public for his or her decisions and since a leader's strength is ultimately decided by the support he or she has among the public, maintaining the respect of his or her peers becomes the primary objective of a leader.

The leader should also be able to ponder out the consequences of a moral action as some people might exploit this conscience in him or her and they might involve in complicit actions. Hence, leaders should be incisive and make a decision only after deliberate consideration of every possible repercussion. In this way, a leader can protect its people from any threats and hence maintain the respect of his or her peers.

Morality and ethics are often associated with humanity and hence, sound moral judgement often leads us to a more harmonious world. A sound moral judgement has a positive effect on majority of the mankind.

Moral conscience is a very vital quality in a leader, but a leader's strength is determined by the peers exhorting him or her, it is also vital for a leader to maintain the respect of his or her people.