Although sound moral judgment is an important characteristic of an effective leader, it is not as important as a leader’s ability to maintain the respect of his or her peers.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

A leader encompasses multiple qualities like boldness, good judgement, humility, etc. to be deemed a noble leader. One cannot discriminate between the different attributes that define a leader. The prompt says that, respecting peers is an important required characteristic compared to moral judgement. In my opinion, I agree with this claim for three reasons.

To begin with, a leader is the most important person in a room and sets the benchmark within the group. If he maintains humilty, stays deferential towards his peers, the same would be reciprocated by the rest of the group and maintains a healthy ecosystem in which everyone thrives. Suppose he is known for his invective behaviour, then the environment won't be conducive to inoculative ideas. The above example illustrates the importance of a leader's role in overall development of the group.

Further, moral judgement under difficult situations may not be as catastrophic as compared to the repurcussions of snide attitude. For example , a respectful manager who has to nominate an individual for an award from his team would talk and consult with his peers to determine to deserving candidate. Whereas , a vile manager may nominate a servile individual or end up nominating himself which he totally doesn't deserve. It shows the importance of how having your peer support is much more relevant than being a lone vile wolf.

To add to the above statement, one might argue that the moral decisions taken might have psychological impact because of the juxtapose of the situation. But disrespecting your subjects or peers may have a psychological impact on multiple people which is totally not acceptable.

Civility and humility are the foundational stones for a happy and a thriving environment and these characteristics help in the development of not only the individual , but also the whole group.