There is little justification for society to make extraordinary efforts — especially at a great cost in money and jobs — to save endangered animal or plant species.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Wildlife is a very important component of an ecosystem. Human beings are part of this and have to make sure that every other living organism thrives on this planet. The prompt says that the people are having doubts over making efforts to save endangered species with respect to the impact their actions have. In my opinion, I strongly agree for two reasons.

To begin with, hunting and poaching are some heinous around the world. Yet none of these are documented, or disseminated around the globe. Very recently, scores of rhinos were hunted down by the poachers in Western Africa, and the criminals are still at large. Hundreds of whales are still hunted down in the name of research only to be found rotting in the streets of Asian markets.Events like these might force an individual to question if one can really contribute to end this menace? Any aid that is being sent, is it being used to protect the wildlife and keep the poachers at bay or just gets neglected in the name of poverty, corruption ?

Further, many countries around the world are destroying their natural sancturies in the name of development. For instance, Brazil recently announced that it would resume mining operations in the Amazon even when hundreds of indigenous tribes opposed it. Amazon is one of the planet's most diverse ecological habitat and hosts upto 40% of the World's species. Canada announced to have an oil pipeline run right through it's forest cover. This might result in cleaning up thousands of trees. These examples illustrate, how government is trying to decimate the efforts made by people towards protection of flora and fauna. No matter how many protests or rallies are taken out, the government doesn't give an ear and continues with it's work. In such a situation, how can anyone be sure that their efforts would actually help in the betterment of the ecosystem?

One might argue that many international organisations are trying their best to preserve and conserve the environment. They can atmost delay the inevitable, but the decisions made by the government will nullify all the efforts made by them. In order to get the support of the public, one most make sure that their efforts, no matter how small they are, is considered in the big picture, which at the moment, isn't yet established.