Any leader who is quickly and easily influenced by shifts in popular opinion will accomplish little.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

A true leader is one who keeps his subjects first and then himself. Any leader, who is totally focused on betterment of his group, irrespective of how much he is influenced by his peers will always have loyalty. The prompt says that a whimsical leader, who is easily manipulated achieves very little. In my opinion, I agree with the prompt for three reasons.

To begin with, an important quality to be possessed by a leader is being firm and martinet. A particular roadmap, envisioned by a leader must be consistently backed by him and his peers. If the leader showcases diffidence, then there won't be any progress made towards his subjects. Take the example of demonetization carried out in India. Prime Minister Narendra Modi carried out demonetization wherein all the existing 500 and 1000 rupee currency notes were deemed invalid with immediate effect. This was a masterstroke with respect to narrowing down the black money holders.There were many oppositions for the demonetization considering the impact it had on the rural public. But the economic impact it had by recovering crores of black money, it was a success. Had there been a gullible leader who caved in for the opposition, then India wouldn't have had such an economic uplift. The above example illustrates how probity and being firm are necessary for a leader.

Further, a leader known to be easily influenced will no longer stay in power, manipulated and will be snubbed very at the earliest. To illustrate, a manager in multi national company who heads the marketing division, has to select a particular location for the upcoming product launch. The manager decides on a location, but knowing his gullible nature, his peers recommend him to change the location at the last moment citing few vague reasons which the manager readily accepts. This results in the failure of the event as the manager is not able to replicate the preparation at the other location. A strong leader, who's not easily manipulated would've stood his guard and backed his instincts to go with the existing set up. The example illustrates how a gullible leader is manipulated and discarded.

To add further, a leader is respected for his principles, not for the ideas or principles of his peers. A leader should maintain his solidarity even after reaching greater heights and not being gullible. To give an example, Elon Musk is strong minded leader who heads multiple companies across different domains. He has brought in lot of investment mainly due to his vision.

Investors trust him with their capital because of the kind of leadership he portrays and his roadmap. If he changes his course, or alters his roadmap at every single opinion, then there wouldn't be a sustainable roadmap good enough to impress the investors.

The example illustrates, how unpopular opinions are discarded and a solid roadmap is maintained by a strong leader than one who is gullible.

Leadership is strong art based on principles and firm determination. One should stay by his opinions and vision to be successful in achieving whatever they have set out for. Being easily influenced is a mark of a weak leader who will be snubbed at the first signs of gullibility.