Claim: It is no longer possible for a society to regard any living man or woman as a hero.

Reason: The reputation of anyone who is subjected to media scrutiny will eventually be diminished.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Once a hero, always a hero. This is a famous dialogue from a comic book based movie and perfectly suits the scenario. The prompt claims that a living person can no longer stay a hero for long and their reputation will be eventually tarnished. In my opinion, I don't agree with the claim for three reasons.

Hero is a term associated with an individual who has done extraordinary things in their lives which have directly or indirectly impact the society. Once a person is termed a hero, it's a celebration for his exemplary achievements. No one can take away these glorious feats of human excellence no matter how the next 20 years of their lives shape. To illustrate, Alan Turing was a World War 2 hero for the British for breaking the enigma code. His work helped save millions of lives and win the war. He was publicly praised as a hero and was knighted. Though his sexual orientation being homosexual wasn't widely accepted, it was his peers and other followers who discerned with the fact and continued to acknowledge his achievements. Many media outlets tarnished his reputation and termed him a criminal, but the public was wary of feats and war time heroics and didn't cave in to the wrong portrayal of his demeanour. The modern society is knowledged and double checks every fact before accepting.

The above example shows how public always stays by their heroes irrespective of the multiple attempts made by the media.

Further, people perform heroic acts as they term important at that particular situation, not to please the public. So no matter what the society deems them, a true hero will continue to work towards the betterment of the society. To illustrate, military officers in Kashmir, a small state in India continue to risk their lives and save the public from terrorists. The media portrays the military in a negative sense causing hatred among the general public and causing them to revolt, take out protests against the very people who are risking their lives to protect them. The army officials, continue to work and protect the people irrespective of the response from public. The example illustrates how real heroes continue to help the society and are no longer worried about the backlash they have to face at the hands of media.

One might argue that, media has a very strong presence in the public and any claims made by them will eventually force the society to accept that one was wrongly termed as a hero. In case of people like Tiger Woods, Donald Trump ,etc where their checkered pasts were exposed in public, they were immediately treated as villains. This is rightly so as a true hero is never involved in any illegal or morally corrupt activity. They may no longer be heroes as they weren't one in the first place considering the activities they were involved in. The media scrutiny has a very powerful impact on how the life of a celebrated personality is portrayed. But a true hero will always remain, as they won't have any dark side to their lives and will be celebrated over the coming centuries.