The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Youth of today are the citizens of tomorrow. They are responsible for driving a country towards prosperity and hence it's important for them to incorporate all the virtues of leadership such as ownership, cooperation, competitiveness and humility. The prompt says that youth should be prepared to be more cooperative than being competitive to be leaders in respective fields. In my opinion, I mostly disagree with the claim as leadership qualities is not limited to just cooperation, rather a multitude of other qualities.

To begin with, being highly cooperative at the expense of competitive spirit does not guarantee success. There are fields where being competitive leads to better outcomes. For example, a student participating in a relay sport must be able to cooperate with his teammates to pass the baton without faltering, but if the team as a unit is not competitive, then they might never be able to win a competition. Being competitive is necessary to develop an individual and the whole organization, by pushing oneself to the limits. The above example illustrates how competitive spirit is necessary to be the best in a field, thereby contributing to nation's success.

To add further, every individual is unique in the way he/she leads. Leadership cannot be limited to a fixed set of qualities as every individual has a unique set of qualities. To illustrate, M.S.Dhoni is a former captain of Indian cricket team. He was known for his calm stature and ability to remain composed in pressure situations. His leadership is lauded across the World and he has won several trophies to affirm his stature of a great captain. On the contrary, Virat Kohli is the current Indian team captain who is known for being competitive, aggressive, in your face character. He is known to express his emotions on the pitch. But still, he has a number of accolades accumulated as team India captain. The above example illustrates how leadership can vary across individuals but still result in similar outcomes. Thus, one cannot have a fixed set of qualities defined to be a leader.

One might argue, that cooperation is more important than being competitive as it encourages mutual growth and results in far better outcomes. Cooperation on a global level may lead to better success, such as the International space station which is a joint venture of all the countries. If the countries were competitive and refused to cooperate, then we wouldn't have a floating entity, capable of housing people. Though cooperation is important and has lead to major development, it can't be the only criteria for success.

To conclude, developing youth to be the leaders for tomorrow is a great initiative, but limiting them to a particular set of characteristics such as cooperation may not be a success. Every individual is a unique leader and should be developed based on his characteristics, develop what he's lacking instead of having a fixed set of lessons to be a leaders, which may lead to fragile leaders.