Some people believe it is often necessary, even desirable, for political leaders to withhold information from the public. Others believe that the public has a right to be fully informed.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Politicians are representatives of the public and work towards the betterment of the society. The actions taken for the same may or may not be useful for the public. The prompt asks whether the information withheld by the political leaders is justified. In my opinion, I strongly believe that no piece of information should be hidden from the public for three reasons.

To begin with, people pay taxes and elect a suitable leader who is focused on development of their province. The leader is liable to explain the utilisation of the public money. If one doesn't question the expenses, the leader may use it to quench his thirst of avarice. For example, India faced a major scam in the name of 2G network expansion. The amount was 176000 crores was equivalent to 10% of country's GDP. Had the public not questioned it, similar frauds would occur in future and the politicians would fear nothing and continue pocketing honest taxpayer's money. The above example illustrates how keeping mum and not questioning your elected leaders may hinder the development of the society.

Further, any decision taken towards to betterment of the society has to be consulted with the public before execution. Imagine a fly over being constructed in a region with scarce population. The fly over maybe considered as a mark of growth, but was it actually necessary. India built the tallest statue in the world at the cost of 3000 crores. But at the same time, millions of people were dying of hunger. Had the government consulted with the public over the construction of the statue, it would've been rejected and utilised in a far more efficient way. The above instance illustrates how proper utilisation of resources is necessary and how an important is played by the public.

To add further, one may argue that leaders may face many situations, which conveyed to public may cause panic. But informing people and keeping them aware of the impending doom may help them prepare well than not knowing anything at all. People are entitled to be aware of every situation, be it a nuclear war, or an alien invasion.

To end it, people in the current society are highy educated and wish to be part of the development by actively being involved with the government, working with the officials to determine the areas where aid is needed the most. This is only possible if government reciprocates the same by keeping public actively involved in all the national affairs and working towards the common goal of betterment of the society.