However, Groveton College has successfully reduced student cheating by adopting an honor code, which calls for students to agree not to cheat in their academic endeavors and to notify a faculty member if they suspect that others have cheated.

Groveton's honor code replaced a system in which teachers closely monitored students; under that system, teachers reported an average of thirty cases of cheating per year.

In the first year the honor code was in place, students reported twenty-one cases of cheating; five years later, this figure had dropped to fourteen.

Moreover, in a recent survey, a majority of Groveton students said that they would be less likely to cheat with an honor code in place than without.

Thus, all colleges and universities should adopt honor codes similar to Groveton's in order to decrease cheating among students.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation

Based on a recent report on exam fraud, colleges and universities should adopt honor codes in line with Groveton colleges to reduce cheating in examination. This is based on the fact that students pledge the honor code, stick by it and not break it, report their fellow mates caught in the act and the likelihood of a student cheating under a teacher's supervision is more than an oath pledged one. However, the recommendation can be deemed appropriate by answering the below three questions.

Firstly, what is the guarantee that an oath pledged student(to not cheat) will abide by this and not break the code? It's a verbal agreement and can be broken at any instant. It's a possibility that a student bound by honor code may lie, and end up cheating. One cannot be a 100 percent sure that the moral code won't be broken. In case, the above possibility turns out to be true, then the author's claim is severely dentured.

Secondly, what if the students don't report their fellow batchmates who are involved in cheating leading to a decline in the students caught for malpractice? Students have the back of each other and rarely deceive one another. It's a possibility that a student bound by the code may end up not reporting his friend cheating because of several reasons like friendship, loyalty, etc. There's a possibility that all the students who take up the oath may cheat and end up not reporting one another leading to the false idea that no one was involved in the malpractice. The above case is a real possibility and should be carefully analysed before concluding.

Thirdly, how can one compare two different periods without considering external factors? The fact that the students involved in cheating over the period of 5 years reduced from 21 to 14 maybe due to a number reasons. It may be a possibility that the number of students enrolling Groveton college has reduced drastically over the period. There may also be a case, where the college has hidden the actual statistics of children involved in cheating to promote honor code. One can't rely on facts ranging over a period and justify a major claim.

To conclude, the above argument is definitely flawed considering the above stated unwarranted assumptions. The author needs to provide necessary evidence to support his claim and answer the afore mentioned questions to make it a viable claim. Until then, this shall remain a flawed argument.