Governments should not fund any scientific research whose consequences are unclear.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

According to Hesienberg, the only thing certain is uncertainity. Jumping into the unknown and culminating at the end of it has been the human spirit. The prompt says that governments shouldn't fund research programs that don't have an established outcome. In my opinion, i disagree with the statement for two reasons.

To begin with, human beings have always ventured into the unknown to quench their thirst for knowledge. In the early part of 19th century, there was a rat race in the development of Nuclear science for weapons, fuel etc. The field was novel and not many had idea regarding the magnitude of impact it would have in the future. This was only possible, with the relentless hardwork of scientists and equal support from the government. To this day, we are able to harness electricity from nuclear fuel because of the foundation laid down by the physicists. Had the government withdrawn support owing to lack of relevant outcomes, we wouldn't have fully functioning nuclear power plants. The above example illustrates, how important government support is and how it helps in understanding our World better!

Further, research programs don't yield outcome immediately. Most of the fields take time to understand it's dynamics and how it can applicable. For example, the field of cancer reasearch is a very popular among medicine professionals. Over the last century, people have been coming up with various techniques to cure cancer or reduce it's impact, such as radiation therapy, etc. To reach that stage, the drug or the treatment needs to have a trial run, it's efficiency to be noted down, any side effects or symptoms should be considered to be covered in the next phase. This process continuous till the efficiency increases and the side effects are nill. Had the funding been cut down , then all the development done over years would be null.

One might argue that if the research program isn't yielding suitable outcomes, then it has matured it's reasonable to stop further development in that domain. Looking at the wide horizon of the topics, one cannot have a plausible conclusion. Research varies across the globe and it all comes down to how much important that particular field is and how much impact it's gonna have on the development of the human race.