Claim: Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's major field of study.

Reason: Acquiring knowledge of various academic disciplines is the best way to become truly educated.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The more you learn, the lesser you know. This is a famous quote used in the field of education signifying how broad the humans explored the universe. The claim states that universities should mandate the study of a course outside the major field to be equipped with knowledge from different domains. In my opinion, I strongly agree with the claim for three reasons.

To begin with, being interdisciplinary is the mark of a true student. One should be equipped with different areas of domain expertise to be able to be able to sustain in this fast paced environment. To illustrate, a computer engineer is no longer eligible for high profile job opportunities only on the expertise of computer programming. One is required to have neccessary training with respect to managing resources, finances, etc. An individual is required to be multi-dimensional, to have a crack at such opportunities. Being educated in the various fields is the key for survival and is best possible if done at the grassroot level such as university. The above example illustrates how knowledge outside of the major course work is important in the cuurent scenario and how a versatile student is preferred.

To add further, the mark of a true edurite is being eclectic. One has to learn the basic morals necessary to lead a responsible life no matter the success. Elon Musk is a billionaire entrepreneur who is known for his multiple ventures.But he's termed as a luddite, one who doesn't respect his peers and is involved in illegal activities which may set a bad precedent on the young minds. As an individual of highest success, he should be involved in more philanthropic and morally expansive acts. These characteristics cannot be learnt if one is purely focused on his major course and not worried about the other moral aspects. The above example shows how morals learnt, play an important role in the impact on the society and can be obtained only if one is ready to be eclectic.

Many students enter universities in the field that they are not interested. They are choosedn considering job opportunites and other factors. If one continues in the same field without exploring the other horizons, they may end up benighted.

It's necessary for students to try out different courses to figure out what matches with their passion. A student who likes arts has entered a field of computer science, if he doesn't explore the field of arts and just focuses on his major, he may ended doodling on his monitor while the files keep stacking up at his 9-5 job.The need to explore different areas are necessary for a student to figure out what matches their passion and help them grow in that domain.

One might argue that being focused on one major may help in developing a higher intelligence quotient in that domain rather than spending it on different disciplines, but a historian may never know the reason why an army won the battle because of the geographic advantages. One should be knowledged in different fields to figure out the outliers that one wouldn't know if they are solely focused in their major leaving out a massive void in their knowledge spectrum.