The primary goal of technological advancement should be to increase people's efficiency so that they have more leisure time.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Humans are slaves of their own inventions. The more development in the field of technology, the more laid back people become. Latest upgrade in the tech sector may increase comfort and leisure, but that shouldn't be the primary goal to develop new innovations. In my opinion, I disagree with the claim of leisure being the primary goal for three reasons.

To begin with, all the latest development in the science and technology has made humans more and more hungry and totally dependent on the these gadgets. Take for example, popular social media applications like Facebook and Instagram. These applications let you connect with your friends, loved ones staying in different parts of the world. It totally reduces the time in connecting and conveying the message. But in the hindsight, new age kids are completely hooked to these platforms spending hours of their precious childhood watching and uploading videos in the belief of getting instant fame. These kids are no longer focused in developing their career. Instead of utilizing it for better purposes like current affairs, updates in the field of their interest, etc. The kids recklessly spend their time doing unproductive work. This is exactly opposite to the claim where efficiency is supposed to increase. The example illustrates how technology has only made the matters worse for the kids.

To add further, people have been taught about traditional knowledge from their ancestors in many fields like cooking, farming, etc. These are age old processes which have been fine tuned over the years to serve the best purpose. With technology, these ancient ideas are slowly getting moribund, thereby losing great amount of historic culture. For example, people used to paint their houses with cow dung so that many insects and bacteria are killed when in contact and helps in maintaining a better health. With the current generation, these age old practices are neglected because of which many kids are suffering from diseases at such a young age. Neglecting tradition in the name of leisure and advancement will have a negative impact on the overall development. The example illustrates how the purpose of increasing people's efficiency has impacted negatively on the public.

One might argue that, the more advancement in technology is making people's life easier and one should be encouraged to do so. But the more we are dependent on technology, the more crippled we get. For example, people are no longer interested in travelling by foot for small distances, they use their vehicles or get it from an online website to their doorstep. There is minimal physical activity in the name of leisure and relaxation, thereby making the body more and more lethargic. Lack of exercising has a direct impact on the life span as the immunity reduces. Too much dependence on the technology is a bane for the public in the coming years.

Technology has made life easier, and will continue to do so. Developing technology keeping leisure time as a fundamental goal will harm the society. One should develop technology for the overall development, not just spending more leisure time.