Although sound moral judgment is an important characteristic of an effective leader, it is not as important as a leader’s ability to maintain the respect of his or her peers.

A leader is the person who inpires many around them and people often find themselves emulating the behaviour of tehir leaders.The prompt suggests that a leader should be able to judge people based on their morals, but irrespective of that, a true leader should be able to maintain a respected atmosphere for them. I agree with the suggestion due to the following three reasons.

Firstly, regardless the character of a person a true leader should be able to maintain respect for his or her peers. Because how a person maintains other's respect is often reflective of their own moral values.For instance, if a person is behaving in an unethical manner within a team and it is observed by the leader. In such a situation if leader tries to downgrade them in from of everyone by sevearly castigating them publicaly, then it will also create a bad impact for the leader himself within the team. As people will often feel intimidated by them, therefore more than judging by moral value he should try to create a comfortable environment within the team.

Secondly, the attitude of people is highly affected by the peers or people around them.There is a saying, that, if you want to know about someone's true character, then look at the character of their friends. Hence, a leader should definitely be able to judge a person's character, it is often observed that people who might reflect a great moral character in one situation may behave differently in another.Therefore, making a judgement based solely on one situtation can create a sphere where evreyone may come out as moraly corrupt. And if respect isn't maintained in such a scenarioo then it can turn out as a disaster for the entire team.

Furthermore, it has been observed that morally corrupt people tend to become more sincere and genuine if given a second chance. If a person is caught in action of maintaining unethical behavior and irrespective of that they are respected by their peers, it does work towards improving their behaviour in the long run. For instance, if a person in the team is trying to portray their peers in negative light to present themselves as saint and a team player, this should immediately be cought by a true leader.Neverthless, if that employee is confronted for this kindof activity by the leader himself and still maintain their respect within peers, he may change his tactics. Therefore phsycology plays an crucial role in how a person behaves and conducts themselves in a team.

In conclusion, a great leader is the one who can judge people by moral values but tarnishing one's respect on the basis of that judgement can result in a great failure not only for the team but also for the leader himself.