Although sound moral judgment is an important characteristic of an effective leader, it is not as important as a leader’s ability to maintain the respect of his or her peers.

Modern society expects a lot out of its leaders. Those members of society deemed worth to lead are expected to be at once effective, amicable, faultless, and to have sound judgement. However, to say that one's judgement is only sound because of one's strong moral sense is to discredit the complexity of the act of judging. Morality, especially in our multicultural, swiftly globalizing world, varies from person to person. To say that a leader has "sound moral judgement" would mean very different things about a leader in India and a leader in The United States because of the significant cultural differences between these two societies. As such, a leader ought to focus on relating to the people around them, respecting the differences between them and their potentially different conceptions of moraltiy rather than focus on maintaining their own personal morality regardless of the circumstances they face.

The fact of the matter is that there is no single correct system of morality. To use a contemporary example, the debate around abortion rights in the United States is carried out between two political groups with completely different ideas about whether abortion is a "moral" act or not. The conservative side of the argument asserts that an unborn child has as much right to a life as its mother, and as such should not be taken out of the world before it has had a chance to realize its potential. To do so would be, to the conservative, immoral across the board. But one aspect of the liberal counterargument is that women who have become pregnant because of an event that was out of their hands such as molestation or rape ought to have the right to decide whether or not they want to commit to raising a child, a task which will dominate a significant portion of their lives. What should the political leader legislate in a society such as this, where two groups have genuine differences of opinion as to what constitutes a "moral" approach to reproductive rights? Were the leader to side with the conservatives, he would, in their eyes, have "sound moral judgement", but would be morally bankrupt to a liberal. As such, a leader should not pretend to know what the "moral" thing to do is, but should instead attempt to take into account the opinions of those around him. It is much more important to be repsected as a person who listens to all opinions and takes everything into account when making decisions than as a person who is "moral".

Indeed, one could postulate that judgement itself ought to be completely separate from morality. What about decisions a leader must make regarding issues which are entirely separate from the moral realm? To give an example, what would the leader of "sound moral judgement" decide in regard to a secular issue, such as taxing corporations, or funding a space program? One could stretch the definition of morality to say that even decisions regarding corporations are moral decisions, since corporations are composed of people, and people are the matter morality really concerns itself with. But do considerations such as this not have the potential to fog the mind of the leader, to make mountains of molehills and prevent them from effectively discharging the responsibilites of their office because of philosophical questions which are but so much smoke, so many mirrors? The leader has one concern, which is to lead. He/she does not lead concepts, or corporations, but people. As such, he/she ought to keep their focus on people, and people alone.

One could object and say that one cannot focus on people without simoultaenously focusing on the concepts of right and wrong, what is good and what is bad, which would fall within the realm of morality. But again, the line between good and bad is relative to one's cultural background and personal beliefs. Beneath the leader sit a myriad of individuals, all of whom deserve respect and appreciation, respect and appreciation they might be denied should the leader decide that a Christian morality is superior to, say, a Hindu one. The leader is, at the end of the day, a person as much as the people whom they lead. Should they not then make it their goal to be the best person they can be, to respect and to be respected, and to understand that what is good and what is bad changes depending on who you ask?