Although sound moral judgment is an important characteristic of an effective leader, it is not as important as a leader’s ability to maintain the respect of his or her peers.

Leader is the one who leads the group or society to betterment. The quality that classifies someone as good leader, is to lead the institution on path of progress along with ensuring the progress of an individual member of its institution. The leader is the one who pushes his/hers peers to theirs limits to for the their growth hence leading to growth of an institution. I do not agree with author that maintaining good relationship with his/her peers is more important than compromising with the moral values.

History has seen many leader, who has put moral values aside with taking decisions, and led worlds to chaos. One good example of this can be Hitler. Although, he was deeply revered by his followers, ignorance of moral judgment in was the reason for world war second.

Having sound moral judgment and maintaining respect of peers are completely different thing for any leader. It might be possible while having good judgment quality, a leader may have utmost respect from his peers and and vice versa. Comparing sound moral judgment quality with respect of his/hers peers towards him/her is like comparing oranges with apple.

To sum up, it is important to have characteristic of sound moral judgment in a leader. Respect of his/her follower is relative which can vary from people to people. If a leader is on right path, the follower eventually start to respect him/her for the decision he/she made considering moral values in mind.