A pet food company recalled 4 million pounds of pet food in response to complaints that pets that had consumed the food experienced vomiting, lethargy, and other signs of illness. After the recall, the pet food company tested samples from the recalled foo

The argument states about the investigation on recalled food by a pet company, in which all the chemicals found are approved for use in pet food. The pet company tested some samples and concluded that the recalled food was not responsible for the vomiting, lethargy and other illness in the pets who consumed the food. The conclusion drawn in the argument is based unwarranted assumptions, two of which can be stated as followed.

First of all, the description about the quantity of samples tested by the pet food company was not provided in argument. It is possible, the pet food company has tested only those samples in which found chemicals are approved ones for use in pet food. Perhaps, other samples had chemical which are not to be part of pet food. Testing large number of samples, could have given more accurate result. This makes the conclusion, vulnerable for accusation.

Secondly, the variation in composition of pet food is not given. There could be chances of changing in composition of pet food over the time. This could lead to generation of chemicals in pet food which are not healthy for food and not approved to be used in pet food. May be pet who suffered from illness may have consumed this food.

To sum up, the conclusion drawn is based on many unwarranted assumption. More information about the quantity of samples, could have add logical point to the evidence. The detailed research about variation of composition, would have strengthen the argument.