Although sound moral judgment is an important characteristic of an effective leader, it is not as important as a leader’s ability to maintain the respect of his or her peers.

To maintain the respect of the peers, an effective leader must have sound moral judgment, the most important characteristic of him. Morality is everything. Without morality everything is meaningless.

For a leader, exemplar for his peers, sound moral judgment is as basic as human needs heart to live. The basic difference between a just dead person and that person just before some moment while he was thriving is that the heart does not work for him now. Every other parts of his body are similar before and after dead but the heart. Similarly, moral judgment is the heart of an effective leader. The choice of him between right and wrong; honesty and dishonesty means a lot among his peers. Respect comes from the inner body of his peers if they can realize that their leader has a sound moral judgment. A leader having poor moral judgment in no way can earn the respect of his peers. For instance, A dictator who has no morality: leads a life of turpitude, sybarite can still earn the ersatz respect of his peers by browbeating, but in the inner mind the peers execrate him but cannot say anything in front of him. After certain time the peers become disaffected and rebellious and the dictator is overthrown. So, without having a sound moral judgment the efficacy a leader diminishes.

History is rife with character of leaders who are known for their sound moral judgment. Not only they maintained the respect of his peers but even today human reminds them with profound respect. Muhammad of Saudi Arab, lived in between fifth and sixth century after Jesus, is still remembered as a leader having moral judgment not only by the Muslims but also by the historians of other religion. Even the people of his time, who were not his follower, respected him for his moral judgment. Once, all tribes in Arab were involved in an internal dissent on the occasion of placing a sacred stone on the Kabba, a sacred place of Arabs. Years after years passed by but they failed to come into a solution. At last they chose Muhammad, though he was of another religion, to solve the case and he eventually solved it to put an end of the war. They called him “Al-Amin”- The faithful and respected him for his moral judgment.

There may be numerous examples of leaders who received respect from his peers but in all cases those respects were short lived. Hitlar, For instance, earned respect from his peers but for his inhumanity and immoral act against the people of Belgium and Poland he is execrated even today.

Without a sound moral judgment a leader never can be effective.